Theia logo
Cloud & desktop IDE framework implemented in TypeScript

What is Theia?

Theia provides the end-user with a full-fledged multi-language IDE (not just a smart editor) and supports equally the paradigm of Cloud IDE and Desktop IDE.
Theia is a tool in the Cloud IDE category of a tech stack.
Theia is an open source tool with 4.7K GitHub stars and 600 GitHub forks. Here’s a link to Theia's open source repository on GitHub

Who uses Theia?


6 developers on StackShare have stated that they use Theia.

Why developers like Theia?

Here’s a list of reasons why companies and developers use Theia
Top Reasons
Be the first to leave a pro

Theia Alternatives & Comparisons

What are some alternatives to Theia?
Eclipse Che
Eclipse Che is the only open source cloud IDE with RESTful workspaces and Docker-based machines. It's as powerful as it sounds.
Cloud9 IDE
Cloud9 provides a development environment in the cloud. Cloud9 enables developers to get started with coding immediately with pre-setup environments called workspaces, collaborate with their peers with collaborative coding features, and build web apps with features like live preview and browser compatibility testing. It supports more than 40 languages, with class A support for PHP, Ruby, Python, JavaScript/Node.js, and Go.
Codenvy makes development more agile by providing workspaces that are on-demand, collaborative and constraint-free. Based on the open Eclipse Che project, Codenvy can be installed behind a corporate firewall, in a private cloud or as SaaS.
A development platform that enables you to not only edit your files from underlying services like FTP, GitHub, Dropbox and the like, but on top of that gives you the ability to collaborate, embed and share through Codeanywhere on any device.
Koding is a feature rich cloud-based development environment complete with free VMs, an attractive IDE & sudo level terminal access!
See all alternatives

Theia's Stats

Theia's Followers
14 developers follow Theia to keep up with related blogs and decisions.
Dehru Cromer
Martin Mozmar
Karthikeyan K
Sven Efftinge
Tiklu Ganguly
Andrew Matthews
José Dulanto